Recycled Mid-Summer Snark

…from Tumblr, n’est pas.

…I think it finally happened. I think this video makes me feel Old.


I mean, I get that the video tells a story of a lonely girl who finds acceptance someplace unlikely, and that it’s Sweet And Stuff — that’s besides the point. Each microgeneration is, in part, defined by how they tell that very story.

…but I don’t get it.

1. I guess it’s now totally, completely fine to decide “okay, we’re gonna sound like New Order or The Cure” and have that be the end of it. This song is “Just Like Heaven”, and nobody cares.

2a. This song smacks of aching, saccharine, cardigan-earnest…is this twee? Did the whole ironically-aping-the-’80s thing find some kind of bedfellow with twee? I guess twee is the pop-antidote to post-electroclash hipster-disaffection?

2b. …is “twee” a word people even use anymore? What about “electroclash”? Why do you people like Lady Gaga so much like 2003 never happened??

3. Is this video about Furries? Am I old because I see this and I think “furry party oh shit let’s see some YIFFING”? Am I making a totally dated reference, or did they miss the boat with the costumes?

Comments are closed.